017

I cooked today! It’s something I’m always meaning to do, but rarely ever do I move my lazy ass to do it. Which is a shame because I enjoy cooking and it’s a heck of a lot cheaper. And I also have lots of cookbooks. And a freezer full of every single animal.
I chose a recipe from The First Real Kitchen Cookbook because it promised easy recipes with ingredients that you can find in a regular grocery store and it definitely delivered. I made horseradish-crusted steak with horseradish mashed cauliflower. The recipe was originally for mashed potatoes but I’m trying to get on that healthy horse (again) and made mashed cauliflower instead which is a great substitute for potatoes as they practically taste the same and there’s no starch and fewer carbs!
I also threw together a “Left-over” salad (basically salad with anything you find in a fridge–in my case cucumbers and avocados.)
I was trying to avoid rush hour traffic so I ended up buying mild horseradish and that didn’t give the steak that nice burn of horse radish and made it taste a lot sweeter, kind of like miracle whip. It wasn’t so bad but next time I will definitely not be using the mild one.
As you can see, I did not get that breading thing right, probably because I was starving and just wanted to eat but I swear I followed directions and that is what happened. But I don’t care (eh-eh-eh-eh~) because it was delicious and now I’m full. Which is all that counts right?
Tomorrow is pay day (YAY!) So I’m spending tonight going through cookbooks to plan the week’s meals. Might also be seeing Kick-Ass 2 tomorrow with my babies, and I’m sure I’ll be dragging myself home because I can only handle two twenty-one year olds for so long. (This from a girl who a month ago wanted babies right?)
(Also finally figured out my camera so I guess I’ll start doing more photo posts or something. Ya bunch of voyeurs.)
Speaking (loosely) of time, I finally finished 11/22/63 yesterday and as I predicted I ended up BAWLING near the end. But Stephen King really touched on something that has always troubled me whenever I fantasized about going back in time: “The past is obdurate.”
I loved how all the “harmonies” of the past played out for Jake, (okay not loved. Especially not near the end I was just like, IT’S JUST ONE MAN AND ONE WOMAN! THEY JUST WANT TO BE IN LOVE IS THAT SUCH A CRIME?! Spoiler alert: Yes it is.)
We all know that if you change the past, you change the future. And if you try to change the future from the past, the past is going to put one HELL of a fight.
(Remember when I felt like I was going back in time and it felt REALLY hard? Yeah, there was a reason for that.)
I always thought that if I had a chance to change the past I’d go back to when I was in grade 2. For me, that seems a good place to start. Early enough so I have enough time to work out all the changes, but I’d be smart enough to know why. I always imagine that changing my past from then on would make my current future better.
But I remember one night talking with Janet (it was the first time we made sangria, and there was a super moon.) And she said that she wouldn’t go back in time because all the things she went through in the past made up who she was today. And I guess sometimes I forget that part, and I kind of like who I am today.
11/22/63 though… what an emotional ride, especially the last few chapters. Stephen King really knows how to tug on your heart strings.
Off to finish Stand By Me based on The Body. I’m in a 1950-60s kick thanks to Mr. King.
Leave a Reply

