The Romantic and the Philosopher XIV

1, 2, 3 the Romantic takes a deep breath and presses record:
Hey gypsy boy, where do you plan to go to?
 
This relationship is over, though my stomach still hurts.
And now I’m gonna live alone, why is the pain much worse?
 
Even my best days without you, were nothing in comparison to my worst days once I had found you, once I had you:
I had everything.
I had everything.
I had everything.
Please don’t leave.
 
If you want a good surprise I can do that for yaIf you won’t believe your eyes I can do that for ya
Tell you everything’s alright I can do that for yaNever leave your side I can do that for ya
If you want a cola, I can make it colder
If you want a bad girl, nobody’s bolder
And if you want the Queen of New York
than you better call me.
 
What do you need to get high for, when your baby’s so to die for?
 
Heart skipped a beat, and when I caught it you were out of reach. But I’m sure, I’m sure you’ve heard it before.
 
My heart beats fast, I know you’re there. But I pretend like I don’t care.
 
I was falling hard, with an open heart, how did I read the stars so wrong?
I wish I knew then, what I knew now. Wouldn’t dive in, wouldn’t back down. Gravity hurts, you made it so sweet, till I woke up on the concrete.
Falling from cloud nine, crashing from the high…
 
Then I got just a glimpse, I see where our love is.
Please look into my eyes, baby you gotta try to:
Dial into me.
Dial into me.
Dial into me.
Don’t talk in circles.
 
Oh… kiss me, beneath the milky twilight.
Lead me, out on the moonlit floor.
Lift your open hand, strike up the band and make the fireflies dance, silver moon sparkling.
So kiss me…
 
The Romantic stops, breathes out removes the tape, wanders the dark streets until she gets to the Philosopher’s house. With a whispered prayer she slips it into his mail box and waits.
In her mind, the Philosopher would say, 1, 2, 3 and press record:
She said, “Hello mister, pleased to meet ya.”
 
Pretty girl, pretty girl, pretty girl, you should be smiling.
A girl like you should never look so blue.
 
Please don’t say we’re done, when I’m not finished.
I could give you so much more.
Sometimes I still need you.
Sometimes I still need you.
Sometimes I still need you.
Sometimes I still need you.
Sometimes I still need you.
Sometimes I still need you.
Sometimes I still need you.
 
That’s my motherfucking word too. Just let me motherfucking love you.
Listen ma, I give you all I got, give you all of this I need confidence in myself.
 
Be my lover, my lady river.
Can I take ya, take ya higher?
Gonna take her for a ride
On a big jet plane.
On a big jet plane.
On a big jet plane.
On a big jet plane.
Gonna hold ya, gonna kiss ya in my arms.
But all she received was Silence.

aka The Mash Up

Leave a Reply

