063

So… to like Janet, Nicole, Jenni, Masawe, Anushkah, Joyce, Jane etc. etc. who read my blog (especially to Jenni and Joyce who follow it) so I was clicking around WordPress and saw that they had this “Blogging University” thing and I was curious to see what the world of professional blogging looked like so I signed up for a course ahahahaha.

And I basically have “challenges” that I have to do everyday so it’s going to be a lot of nonsense so sorry!!

Anyways, of course, I screw up and I think I put in 201 when I really meant 101 but I could have sworn that the course I wanted was 201 and the “advanced” one was 202 because this was in its second year… but whatever. I’m going to do both because I can.

Also, I’ve had an online blog since I was like… 12. (Any old Xanagans? Can you believe they’re doing a kickstarter to bring that back?) So I don’t really need it broken down. But I was always curious about what goes into all those “HOW TO BLOG” books that get sold for like 30 bucks. So yeah.

101 Challenge!!

Today’s assignment: write and publish a “who I am and why I’m here” post.

This is all easily found in my “about” page but whatever. I’m Cat and this is a personal blog. I have an online blog again because my friend Nicole suggested that I make one to “get my voice out there” so to speak. Like post whatever’s going on in my life, fiction pieces, recipes etc. etc.

What am I about and why should *you* read my blog? Erm… I’m not really “about” anything and you don’t have to if you don’t want to. But this is such a voyeuristic age that I feel like most people can’t help themselves BUT read about other people sometimes hahaha. I mean, I still have a personal journal but to be honest typing is sometimes so much faster than writing but oh well.

What topics will I write about… uh a lot of whining about my job, life, random drunken posts and I guess a really tangible thing would be my thoughts on the books I’m reading. But if you’re expecting a really serious review with a breakdown of plot, with quotes and star ratings etc you will be disappointed. It’ll be a lot more, “I’m reading this and it’s making me feel this. You should(‘nt) read it. This is beautiful/dumb.” /shrugs

What I hope to accomplish… well, I’m still not 100% sure. I mean there are a lot of fashion bloggers out there, I swear every five seconds another fashion blog just sprung into being and a lot of them end up doing it for life and styling and stuff which is cool. I mean Tavi started a personal style blog when she was 11 and now it’s morphed into Rookie which is pretty cool.

I don’t really have a goal to be “famous” but if this somehow opens up job opportunities in publishing/editing that would be fab.

Now for 201!!!

Today’s assignment: consider what you want to accomplish with your blog. Write down three concrete goals you want to achieve. 

1. Blog consistently.

2. Start posting up snarks of BSC/SV books.

3. Meet other readers/writers and talk more about books and help people edit their work.

Yeah… ah… this feel so awkward. But there you go, goals, who I am etc.

Leave a Reply

