064

Another day, another ridiculous blog post about it. Let me break down what I’m going to whine blog about so you can just skip to the stuff you want: Work, two books I read and the blogging challenges.

Work:

What else can I say but “ugh”? I thought it’d be a pretty decent day as it was still cold so the amount of fraps (frap off, seriously) and cold drinks I’d have to make would be minimal. Also it was the finance minister’s funeral today and they blocked off the street so again, thought it would be slow. But alas, I was wrong. I did have a good morning team today though, it was Dillon, Kevin, Cat and I. I thought it’d be a normal day where I’d have my usual annoyances but today was something special.

So around noon we see this guy carrying this gigantic package and Kevin, Cat and I were all looking at it and Kevin goes, “Oh that’s for us. I bought a fridge for us for downstairs.” Kidd and I played along with his joke but then suddenly we see him veering towards our door and all of us are suddenly going, “Oh… OH!” Then we figured he got the address wrong and was looking for the guy upstairs but no, it was for us and it was a fridge!

Dillon was off doing the deposit at this time so we’re all looking at each other like, “Shit… what do we do now??” It was our new milk fridge (which is pretty stupid since the back up one they sent us was working perfectly.) We started to move things out of the way so he could take out the old one, bring in the new one and set it up but apparently this guy’s only job was to deliver it and he couldn’t wait because he was on a schedule so now we’re stuck with this huge fridge in the middle of our cafe which is already quite tiny.

Of course we’re hit with the biggest, stupidest rush right then. Kevin’s calling our DM and manager to see what we should do with the stupid thing while Cat and I were handling the people. About forty-five minutes later, Dillon’s on his last break and I step into the back to get milk and he looks so dejected as he looks at me and says, “We have to move the old fridge into the bathroom and put in the new one ourselves.”

Kevin and I were doing okay with the day but the minute we heard that we were just DONE.

Okay, first of all this is definitely not part of my job description. There are actual people who are suppose to do this for us. I am not being paid nearly enough to do this and there are all sorts of other things that come into play like what if one of us gets hurt or fucks it up etc. Ugh, Starbucks I hate you.

We’re hit with another rush and this thing does not look like it’s going to be done, Dillon and Kevin are done at 2 so when that comes around Kevin’s out the door and Dillon decides to stay, I guess it’s because he wants to move up in the company and this will look good for him but still, man that sucks and he’s sick too!

We manage to move condiment bar and other things around to get the old fridge into the bathroom and then get the new one off the stupid wooden platform, (thankfully Kevin had unscrewed it before he left) and back into it’s original spot. Afterwards I just ran around replacing all the milk and bringing up more milk and making whipped cream as this stupid rush surges in.

So at this point this total monstrous lady comes to till where Cat is and starts to berate her and being truly awful to Cat that she had to go into the back to have a moment. So earlier in the day she had come in and said she wanted a tall skinny mocha. She said she wanted a tall skinny mocha like six times and Cat and I had to fight down the urge to snap, “WE GET IT. SKINNY MOCHA.” It’s like 4.15 and she gets all huffy about it going, “Why is it 4.15? I get this all the time it’s never 4.15. It’s a tall skinny mocha right?” Cat Kidd answers, “Yes it’s a tall skinny mocha, I’ll get the receipt for you but that’s just the price of the skinny mocha.”

Hours later she had come back and was livid that there was coffee in it and she had given up coffee for lent and went on and and on and on how Cat had ruined it, she gave up coffee for thirty days, this is a serious religious thing and Cat was rude and she had told Cat about the price and she wants a phone number to complain and Cat’s full name.

Okay, what this bitch really wanted was a skinny hot chocolate. Cat explained that when you say “skinny mocha” it means there is espresso in it and if you wanted no coffee you SHOULD HAVE SAID SO IN THE BEGINNING. We’re not mind readers for God’s sake.

But I did not just awkwardly give Cat a pat on the back to comfort her I asked her if she would like a hug (even though I was kind of like, ‘should I? Maybe she wants me to ignore her… ah… ah… ah…’) and I did so that’s improvement for my part ahaha.

It’s too late for me to start looking for another job before my trip but if I get into school (it’s mid-April for the love of God let me in!!!) then being a barista would be the perfect balance plus I get benefits but still, sometimes management and some customers makes it really hard for me to enjoy this job.

Books:

Today I finished reading The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer by Jennifer Lynch and Mostly Harmless by Douglas Adams.

We’ll do The Secret Diary first.

One thing you should know about me: I love, love, love, love, love Twin Peaks. I can’t quite put my finger on why I love it so much or why it’s a part of my life. It’s got great story, great visuals and all that but I definitely feel something every time I watch it.

I recently finished re-watching both seasons and the movie and I had gotten my hands on a copy of The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer. It’s a spin-off from the show and was mentioned a lot in the show itself so we finally get to read it and know more about Laura. I like/hate that the “ripped pages” are still ripped pages in her diary. I guess we’ll never know all the gritty details about Laura’s relationship with Ben Horne.

Although, after reading this, I find Ben Horne to be 10x grosser. He was weirdly in love with Laura from when she was very, very young. I mean he bought her a PONY when she was twelve and his own daughter got bubkis. And he was always very handsy and cuddly with Laura so he groomed her from a very young age. Ick.

I kind of wish that I had read Laura’s diary when I was in my teens haha. It’s kind of a weird novel to classify as she is a teenager but content is very adult. Her sexual urges/awakenings are very honest and I don’t think they’d be viewed as “weird” or “bad”. In fact if I had read it then I’d feel slightly more reassured that I wasn’t the only one who had these thoughts haha. I just had to wait till my 20s to realize that.

But it got me to thinking about PT, and how I’m kind of lucky that we met so we can both explore and talk about sexual things in a pretty safe way. Not just in the health sense but we kind of created this really safe zone for each other where there was absolutely no judgement and I just felt really, really, really comfortable that I could be as expressive and curious or ask all the dumb questions I wanted. Although lately I think we’ve gotten all that we can from each other and it’s time for us to part ways. I think he’s fallen into that “I think I have actual feelings for you” phase again but I trust he’ll snap out of it. Besides, I don’t think I could ever be in a serious relationship with him, we just don’t have that much in common and he’s still a horrible speller.

Mostly Harmless was the last installment to the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy that Douglas Adams actually wrote and it was my least favourite of the bunch. I felt it was much more confusing than the others and didn’t seem to really link any of the past events together until the very, very end. That’s what saved this book for me to be honest. I laughed out loud when Arthur looked at the book of matches but I still have so many questions left, like what happened to Fenchurch?? Where is Zaphod?

Then I saw that Eoin Colfer, who wrote Artemis Fowl and who I adore, wrote another installment to the series so I’ll have to get my hands on that quite soon.

If you haven’t read any of the Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy yet I suggest you do it soon! It’s so funny, it actually made me laugh out loud several times in public. It’s such great social commentary as well.

Started reading The Vagrants by Yiyun Li and halfway through The Last Madam so expect that soon

Okay Blogging Challenges~

101: Today’s assignment: edit your title and tagline.

Ah… I don’t know. I kind of like Directions, Please. I chose the name plathway as a play on words of pathway and Sylvia Plath. She’s a huge writing inspiration of mine and I thought a tagline looked too messy.

But basically, I’m kind of emulating her journalistic style by blogging. All the time.

(Which is a fab way for me keep my sanity as I stay cooped up in my little apartment because I can’t spend any money for three months.)

201: Today’s assignment: audit your brand — look at all the ways you communicate information about your blog, and make sure they’re consistent, focused, and say what you want them to say.

I think my blog gives off a really strong, “If you want to read about some girl’s whining. This is the place to be. 10/10 would recommend.”

Toodles kittens~

2 thoughts on “064

    • I am interested in reading Colfer’s take on this series but I found that Mostly Harmless ended in such a great way that it kind of wrapped up Arthur and Ford’s story. Like I said before there was some nagging questions like what happened to Fenchurch? etc.

Leave a Reply

