Sriracha Lime Chicken

So this saving money + being healthy thing usually goes hand in hand. You save tons more money when you cook and you have more control over how much junk you eat.

The thing with this though is that it’s so much WORK. And I totally understand the ease with just going to a fabulous restaurant and getting served delicious food. Ugh, I want to go out to one right NOW but… alas.

I’m going to share with you guys a super yummy, super easy, super affordable recipe that you will absolutely loooove. I swear.

I got this Sriracha Lime Chicken recipe from Running to the Kitchen a few months ago and I like to make it every now and then because it’s SO EASY and CHEAP! I usually buy a pack of chicken thighs and using this recipe I have food for like a week. I try to not eat so many grains for dinner – I try to go Paleo as much as possible and this recipe definitely fits into those periminiters.

Another great thing about cooking is that you can always modify the recipe and get it to taste exactly how you like it. How great is that? I’ll let you know some of the modifications to the recipe I make as I go along.

INGREDIENTS
6 boneless chicken thighs
salt & pepper
¼ cup extra virgin olive oil
juice of 1 lime
½ large onion, sliced
1 tablespoon sriracha (*see note)

step1

To make the marinade, mix your lime juice, olive oil and sriracha together in a bowl. I like to add crushed chilis and garlic as well for an extra kick. Can’t come up with a brand right now but you can find it in any Asian grocery store. You can modify how much sriracha you want to add as well, I put in a whole lot more than just one tablespoon-I like it spicy.

step3

Then chop up your onion into thin slices and dump them in. I have extremely sensitive eyes so I try to avoid anything with onions… but when you add these to the chicken and bake them they come out caramelized and caramelized onions are the best!!! A great tip to deal with onion tears is to stick your onion into the freezer for a couple of minutes before you use them.

step2 close1

Wash your chicken, pat it dry and season it with salt and pepper. Salt and pepper is really basic so feel free to experiment with different spices. I had some leftover taco seasoning from a taco night a few weeks ago that I tossed in as well.

step4 close2

When you’re finished with that dump the chicken into the marinade and and mix it really well, make sure each piece is coated. Then cover it up and stick it in the fridge for an hour.

Like I mentioned before, the thing with cooking is that it is a pain in the butt to have to clean after but it’s all about using the time you have to do all those things. This has to sit in the fridge for an hour, I use that time to prepare side dishes, stir fry some veggies, make some quinoa etc.

After an hour, pre-heat your oven to 400 degrees (while you’re waiting for the oven to heat, tackle those dishes!!) and bake for about 25-30 minutes. Broil for five if you so wish so the onions get crispy.

fin2 fin1

Voila! Super easy, super cheap and super yummy. Let me know if you make it and if you enjoyed it. Or some other modifications you’ve made.

xx Cat

Leave a Reply

