Jerk Chicken

Summertime is upon us all (or so I’m going to assume) and even though I despise humidity there’s something about summer that I love. Maybe it’s just a byproduct of society where summer is built up as the easiest, best time ever but I know for a fact that because school lets everyone have the summer off it’s always incredibly hard to work in the summer time. I am resisting the temptation to give away shifts and just spend the day wandering the sunny streets drinking iced coffees or lying in air conditioned bliss reading. God it’s only a month before I go away as well!!! Ah… I don’t want to think about it.

Anyways summer also means BBQs and patio parties and a lot of these things are usually pot luck and I’ve got a recipe that’s perfect for the summer and will wow everyone!!

If you’ve never had jerk chicken before you mustmustmustmustmust make this recipe. If you’ve had jerk chicken before give this one a whirl.

I got this recipe from my friend Joe who made it for us a few times so I don’t know where she got it from. It’s different from a more traditional jerk recipe because this one is a dry rub.

Ingredients:Β 

  • 1 tbsp sugar
  • 1 tbsp onion powder
  • 1 tbsp dried thyme
  • 2 tsp allspice
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 3/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp clove

Ha, she just gave me the ingredients list so I always kind of adjust it depending on how much chicken I’m cooking at the time. It’s easy to double this recipe. I used this exact recipe to make 4 chicken/thighs.

c1 j1

Mix all your spices together in a bowl (ugh you have no idea how big a pain it was to get into a bowl after taking this picture!!!) and then rub it all over your chicken evenly. Or if you want to do it the lazy way just throw all your chicken in a big bowl/pot, throw all the spices on top and mix it all with your hands.

j3

(Note: If you decide to dry rub each piece individually you’ll end up using A LOT more of the spices but it’ll have a stronger flavour. Either way you kinda win.)

Again, I just usually guess the temperature and how long to bake these bad boys. I usually pre-heat my oven to 425, and bake them for about thirty minutes flipping halfway through. I double check with my meat thermometer to make sure they’re well done.

j4

Like good jerk chicken this isΒ SPICY. My mouth is always on fire and I want to cry but it’s so good!!! It goes great with some Jamaican rice and peas to help soak up all the spices.

j5

Let me know if you enjoy this recipe! And if anyone knows the original source for this let me know so I can credit. Otherwise it’ll forever be known as “Joe’s Jerk Chicken Recipe”.

xx Cat

One thought on “Jerk Chicken

Leave a Reply

