Books I’ve Read – The 2014 Edition

Okay this is 2 months later than I normally like to publish this but I was enjoying being a lazy POS during my break way too much and I’ll be upfront, I did not meet my goal of 300 books/comics. 😦 Mainly because of two reasons: school, and my ereader broke during my Europe trip. (Which I will blog about soon!!! For real lol.) To be honest if it wasn’t for my short story class my final numbers would have been A LOT lower. That’s not to say that I push myself to read to hit my goal, I naturally read quickly and voraciously, it’s a habit that I got into since I was younger and what I enjoy doing during my long commute to work/school.

That being said, when I went on my trip this summer as soon as I got on the plane and pulled out my ereader I discovered that it was broken. The screen was all messed up and I could only read half of the book loaded on which really sucked. I tried doing it with a Babysitters Club book (lol I figured it’d be the easiest as it’s REALLY simple) and it just wasn’t the same. To be honest I think not being able to read during my trip really exasperated my homesickness. Reading is a really intrinsic part of who I am and not being able to do so was really aggravating at times. Luckily I was able to stumble upon some hostels that had a take-a-book-leave-a-book thingy going on. Phew.

Without further ado my 2014 grand total was: 79 (lol omg)
My goal for 2015 is: 150

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

Loved it. It was really terrifying at some parts but also really insightful. There was this quote I loved about how adults always used paths but children explore different ways to get to the same destination and that really resonated with me. Highly recommend it. It was kind of in the same vein as Coraline. The ending was bittersweet and well done.

The Diary of Edward the Hamster by Mariam and Ezra Elia

It was one of those short little books they sell by the cash register in bookstores. Edward the Hamster smokes, is an existentialist and suffers from ennui.

Darth Vader and Son + Vader’s Little Princess by Jeffrey Brown

Darth Vader as an actual dad is quite touching and hilarious. Made even more so if you understand all the Star Wars references.

That Scatterbrained Booky + Visitors from Saskatoon + With Love, Booky + As Ever Booky by Bernice Therman Hunter

So this is a very, very, very old book series that has a special place in my heart. If I ever get around to (or can afford) a personalized Ideal Bookshelf print this would be on there. So I first discovered That Scatterbrained Booky when I was in grade three (3 or 4 can’t remember) all the classrooms had little baskets with a hodgepodge of books and I was the only one that would actively peruse them, I don’t think even the teacher knew what we had these were probably duplicates from the library. Anyways these were for “down time” when we could read when we were finished our work and they were suppose to stay in class but I snuck them home all the time. Lol I’ve found that after grade 1/2 any “downtime” teachers say we have is nonexistent. We’re kept on a pretty tight schedule and if there is “downtime” it’s when you’ve already finished your test.

I was absolutely enchanted by the fact that this was set in Toronto. My school did Silver Birch (which is a kind of reading assignment thing where you read a certain number of books by strictly Canadian authors but most of them were always set in different provinces or like the 1800s.) So, Booky’s story was set in the Depression and I thought it was so cool how even though her family was dirt poor she still managed to have so much fun. Just running around the city, or doing odd jobs to make ten cents to see her first moving picture show. I really related to her because her parents fought as fiercely as mine did and I naively wished to go through hard times like she did because she made it seem exciting and you’d end up as a better person because of it. Anyways, this has nothing to do with Silver Birch (jfc Cat, pls stay on point) and IDK why I threw it out there because the Booky trilogy wasn’t even part of the Silver Birch list.

So, anyways That Scatterbrained Booky mainly focuses on Booky as a young girl around 10/11 years old and it details how her family gained another member and how they were forced to move houses because they couldn’t afford the rent. It’s hard to detail because it’s a series of events more so than Booky going on a big journey with a clear end game in mind.

The second book in the series, With Love, Booky was available in that little basket of books and I quickly gobbled it up as soon as I was done the first. With Love, tracks Booky through her pre-teen years from her first crush and her first kiss which is still so magical to me. The school didn’t have the third book and it’d be several months before I could find it.

As anyone who knows me now, know that I have a very tense relationship with my Dad but before that happened we had a Saturday ritual where he’d take my little brother and I out for a “cappuccino”. Which basically means he got a coffee and we got some other treat then we’d go to Chapters and he’d let us loose in the kids section. This Chapters was really new at the time so going here was literally the best thing that could happen to me lol. I was browsing around that day and I happened to find the complete trilogy in one big fat volume. I was ecstatic, I had to have it. So I dashed off to the politics section and my Dad gave in pretty quickly. As Ever, Booky details Booky going through her teenage years leading up to her graduating high school and up to world war II. I kind of wish that Bernice detailed the relationship between Booky and Lorne more but the scene where he asks her to be his girl literally makes me swoon each time.

All three books and the special short story Visitors from Saskatoon amounted to almost 500 pages. This was the biggest book I had ever read thus far in my life and I couldn’t have been prouder of myself and I also couldn’t have seemed an even bigger dork than I was to my classmates. I still get a thrill reading it every time and like reading about Toronto monuments/places that still exist still seems exciting to  me. lol idk why it just does.

Paddy Whacked by TJ English

I LOVE THIS BOOK. If you’ve been following my year-end list since I’ve started them, then you’ll know I LOVE a good true crime book. This one was really special because it really opened up my eyes to the infrastructure of gangs based on IDK how to say this without sounding like some kind of asshole but err ethnic(?!?!?!?) lines. The Italian mafia are so predominant in pop culture that it’s easy to generalize all gangs/mobs/etc the same way when they couldn’t be more different. Paddy Whacked really focused on Irish mobsters, tracing the origins to the present day. And it really couldn’t be more different than the Italian mafia. I highly recommend this book it’s so interesting. Most true crime books, especially books on organized crime focus solely on men but in Paddy Whacked you did hear about Irish women brawlers which is fantastic. English’s writing kind of goes back and forth sometimes which makes it a little annoying but it’s still really well written. I recommended this to a Starbucks customer I saw reading Helter Skelter and he came back raving about it. Now I’m absolutely obsessed with finding his novel, Born to Kill which is based on Vietnamese gangs which for some reason I didn’t even feel like was a big deal… IDK OK?

Cinderella Dressed in Ashes by Cameron Jace

lmao I DON’T KNOW WHY I DO THIS TO MYSELF. So in 2013 I started these “Grimm Diaries” series by this self-published author and I did not enjoy it. There were so many problems with grammar, prose, character development… like it was the hottest of hot messes. But I also frequently like to torture myself with terrible books and I have to finish them. I was just editing it casually as I read it and I found a million problems. What kills me is that this could be such a promising story but it is being run to the ground. BLEH.

Insanity by Cameron Jace

lolol I KNOW, I KNOW. WHY CAN’T I STOP? This one is about Alice in Wonderland and it reads like every single bad fanfic in the world including annoying boy x girl lame flirty banter. There was something about how this chick smells like marshmallows and he’s in love and IT’S DUMB AND STUPID. I just don’t understand how someone with great ideas can write so badly.

Hi, Cameron Jace. If you ever see this please contact me ASAP. I’ve emailed you before but I don’t think your Live account is working.

A Queer and Pleasant Danger by Kate Bornstein

Very good memoir. It feels like she’s talking to you personally on a patio with a pitcher of something cold and fruity (and possibly alcoholic) between you. Reading this you can practically see her hand gestures. I learnt a lot about Scientology and although her life has been full of ups and downs she makes it sound sparkling. Her charm reminds me of the character Vivi Abbott from Divine Secrets of the Ya-Ya Sisterhood. “Charmingly wounded”.

Rain by VC Andrews

An old white man writing under a white woman’s name as a young black girl. That should clue you in on the mess that this series was. This is terribad. Filled with every cliche in the book, this was written in like the 2000s and was set around that time frame so I don’t see how he could write a biracial child would still be that horrifying in this day and age. The problem is, he’s still writing like it’s the 60s-70s-80s but setting it in the here and now and it’s just all kinds of wrong. I mean he named one of the black female characters Beneatha :||||||||||

Lighting Strikes by VC Andrews

Actually kind of creepy near the end. Probably the best out of the whole series but I wish they had expanded more on the Hudson Secrets and why the aunt was such a whack job.

End of the Rainbow by VC Andrews

This was pointless. You learn nothing about anybody It’s a round about to nowhere.

Gathering Clouds by VC Andrews

Well, this was dumb. Revealing nothing as usual. Waste of ink and paper.

The S-Word by Chelsea Pitcher

It started off really well but then the author became too enamoured with giving the main character all the wisecracks in the world, that barely had anything to do with the story. I honestly felt like she just went “OH! This is so witty! Putting it in!”

Everything Forbidden by Jess Michaels

Not as insipid as I expected, it wasn’t bad until the fast-paced saccharine ending.

Something Reckless by Jess Michaels

Cute, didn’t get the point of 2.5 but it was alright.

Nothing Denied by Jess Michaels

It got steadily more daring. This series is good for all proclivities and wasn’t as bad as I expected.

Breakfast at Tiffany’s by Truman Capote

Reading this I can understand why Truman Capote was upset about the movie version. His story was so beautiful and wistful.

House of Flowers by Truman Capote

Very short story but with lots of lush descriptions. It’s a very conventional love story but that’s not always a bad thing. It’s a story that people take away different things from as Capote merely presents it and there’s no underlying sentiment waiting to be exposed.

Diamond Guitar by Truman Capote

Oh gosh this one was so sad. It was crushing how hopeful he was only to have his hopes dashed. What I got away from this story was just thinking like, how do you go back to your life again after feeling that hope only to have it betrayed?

A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote

This one is my favourite by far! It’s so, so beautiful with an absolutely heart wrenching ending.

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams

Very, very funny. I don’t know why I always avoided this book before, I was already giggling from the beginning. It’s absurd and crazy and it knows it! Yet there are some definite kernels of truth in there.

The Restaurant at the End of the World by Douglas Adams

Oh gosh Douglas Adams is hilarious. I love how there’s so much social commentary going on wrapped up in really fast-paced, sometimes silly but always, always hilarity. The part about how the earth was formed was literally the funniest part for me. I had a mental “OH SNAP!” moment at that part. Reading Douglas Adams actually makes me lol in real life.

Life the Universe, and Everything by Douglas Adams

This one was a lot more confusing to me than the two predecessors, but I think the way the ending worked could have finished this all off as a trilogy though. Despite everything it still made me giggle.

So Long, and Thanks for All the Fish by Douglas Adams

This one was so funny. I didn’t think it could be any funnier but I laughed so hard at two parts in this story I fell off the bed. The biscuit story will never not be funny. I am a little bit confused how the Earth came back though.

Young Zaphod Plays It Safe by Douglas Adams

So Zaphod was just a short story and the thing I always find myself going through with this is I keep whining about how this or that doesn’t make sense, forgetting there’s another book and everything eventually makes sense. Eventually. Regardless still very enjoyable.

Most Harmless by Douglas Adams

Okay this was my least favourite of the bunch. The ending really saved it for me. I still have a lot more questions though but Douglas Adams is dead, however Eoin Colfer did write another instalment to this series. I enjoy his writing quite a bit so I’ll have to get around to it sooner or later. Hopefully it’ll solve everything for me. I really need to know what the hell happened to Fenchurch though.

Why We Broke Up by Daniel Handler

I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! I’m pretty sure I’ve already blogged about this book before but ugh I LOVE THIS BOOK!!!!!!!! That’s exactly how I say it to everyone lol. All caps and all those exclamation points. I really love Daniel Handler’s writing, I did first get into him by way of Lemony Snicket though. He also has THE most majestic voice. He’s a problematic fave though because of his racist jokes at the NBAs. (National Book Awards… not basketball) It was really great that he apologized and matched donations for #WeNeedDiverseBooks which I thought was great because yeah he apologized (but really though, in this day and age when we have people apologizing left and right and it just feels like empty words at this point) but him matching all those donations (I think it ended up being around the 100,000+[ish?] mark??) was just… I don’t know. It felt really sincere.

ANY-AVOCADO.

I found the story in Why We Broke Up to be heartbreaking and beautiful. The book itself is a work of art, it has gorgeous illustrations. Ed and Min’s relationship was so sweet… I legit had to read only a chapter at a time because it evoked so many feelings in me. The story is more than just a love story turned heartbreak story between two people. Daniel Handler handles (heh heh couldn’t resist!) Min’s voice so well. It’s expressive and I think it perfectly illustrates how a memory of something/someone/some moment can be transformative in so many ways. Read this, read this, read this read this book!!!!

Restless Virgins by Abigail Jones and Melissa Miley

I really enjoyed this lol. I found it in the parenting section (of all places right?) at BMV. The title is hella dumb but I devoured it. I remember reading this at work and everyone was like “OH~ EROTICA~~” but no it’s not. In fact I’m pretty sure Kevin marched out with it onto the floor going. “WHAT IS THIS?!” The reveal of the scandal was very anti-climatic but the lives of the students was very interesting. I blog more about it here~

The Secret Diary of Laura Palmer by Jennifer Lynch

Started reading this after I completed all of Twin Peaks. Bless the internet, do you know how hard it is to find a copy of this book??? Anyways, if you’ve never watched Twin Peaks I urge you to go do it NOWNOWNOW!!! It’s coming back in 2016!!! Laura Palmer is such an interesting character and she’s still all wrapped up in secrets, Fire Walk with Me gave some insight but to have her “diary” was something else. Alas the ripped pages remain torn out so we will never actually know those dreams about BOB or more about creepy Ben Horne. As a stand alone novel though, I really wish I had this book when I was like 13/16/teen basically. It would have made me feel not so weirded out by my thoughts as I was.

Waiting by Ha Jin

Really enjoyed this book. I like the way it was written so you felt the “waiting” along with the characters. I know it kind of panders to Western notions about Asians (bound feed, insatiable Asian woman, unsexual Asian man who studies a lot) but… I think it works for this book. I mean, the bound feet was something that actually happened and I feel like it’s only bad when Westerners just view this as a blanket to cover all of us and I am digressing again ha. The ending for this book was so great!! Such an excellent example of irony. I ~expand~ more on this novel here.

The Last Madam by Christine Wiltz

I bought this because of the book jacket blurb. Ugh I hate it when the blurb is better than the actually story. This started out very promising but the writing itself kind of killed it. It’s a biography on Norma Wallace who was one of the most infamous madams in New Orleans and before she died she sat down with a tape recorder and talked about her life. Some parts are really quite engrossing but again, the actual writing that occurred stripped it of it’s character? Elegance… the je ne sais quoi-ness of it I suppose. It tried to have a story narrative but would be suddenly sound like a textbook and any attempt at story sounded too forced.

Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

It was difficult for me to get into this book at first. The story moved like a river, sometimes languidly, sometimes quickly. It’s a really beautiful story though, the descriptions are what really made it. I could see how Fermina Daza was initially turned off by Florentino  at first.

The Unbearable Lightness of Being by Milan Kundera

This is one of my favourite books. This story kind of reminded me of Alain de Botton’s writing style. Well, since Milan came first I should say Alain’s style reminds me of him lol. Oop. This is a beautiful story and really great mediations on love, life and humanity. This really turned me into a Milan Kundera fan for life.

The Silkworm by Robert Galbraith

Another crime thriller that is a lot more gruesome than the first Cormoran Strike novel. I really do recommend everyone reading Rowling’s other works after Harry Potter her style just becomes more distinctive lol. It’s still all smoke and mirrors until the one big reveal. What I enjoyed about this was learning more about Cormoran and Robin although I can’t wait to learn more about Robin in more instalments! I may be in the minority here but I actually quite like Robin x Matt? It’s seemingly growing into a more mature relationship by the end, it just depends if that growth continues in later novels or if it will just spiral downwards. I’m not really into Robin x Corm it just seems too coincidental.

One thing I really enjoyed is how Galbraith/Rowling really addressed Corm’s new “fame” and the problems with dealing with the police now and his other cases that came with it, it added a nice element of reality here. I’m curious to how it’ll come about now after his latest escapade.

I love the villain in this novel though, I was really surprised.

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith

lol I know I read this last year but as soon as I finished the Silkworm I had to read  this one again to compare the two ha. Storywise I prefer this one to Silkworm, now I’m excited for what’s next.

Y by Marjorie Celona

Really beautifully written. This is definitely one of my favourite books of the year. I loved the storyline and all the interactions with all of the different characters. The ending to it was absolutely perfect. It’s one of the most satisfying open-endings I’ve encountered.

100 Simple Secrets of Happy People by David Nevin

Meh. LOL I know it seems kind of ironic given the subject matter but it’s all the usual type of stuff you find in these self-help books. Listen more, be forgiving etc. etc. blah blah blah

The A-Z Encyclopedia of Serial Killers by Harold Schecter

Mainly focuses on the BIG American killers like Ted Bundy, John Wayne Gacy, Jack the Ripper etc. Very, very repetitious. The one thing I did learn from this is how big murder memorabilia is. I don’t know why anyone would want that stuff.

The A-List 1-10 by Zoey Dean

So this came out around the time Gossip Girl did and it was really trendy at the time. I never got around to reading it but now that I have this is SO insipid. It makes Gossip Girl sound amazing in comparison. Lol I seem to have read a lot more crap books than good this year dear God. How do I become a ghost writer? It doesn’t seem that difficult.

Zeus Grants Stupid Wishes by Cory O’Brien

I thought this was going to be a good parody on myths and stuff but it is SO juvenile. It is literally 12 year old boy humour with random caps all over the place and any excuse to use any euphemism for cum.

The Thornbirds by Colleen McCullough

They don’t make books like this anymore. It’s lovely and full of lush descriptions of things like weather and trees basically making the setting into a character itself. It spans generations and it’s such a good rolling story, my mom loves this book lol. We started reading it together at the same time. Meaning I’d read to whenever and I’d put it down somewhere and then she’d pick it up and read wherever she got to and then put it down in the same communal spot ha.

Daily Rituals by Mason Currey

Such an interesting book. I was kind of iffy about it at first but I ended up really loving it. It’s so cool to see all these other artists’ work habits and how similar they can really be. I found it to be a big inspiration. There are over 100 artists featured in this book from Satre to Thomas Wolfe and Stephen King.

How to Fall in Love by Cecilia Ahern

This was the first book I managed to pick up in Rome lol. I was so happy to find a book that I didn’t even care it was by Ahern who I’m not the biggest fan of. I just don’t find her stories engaging enough. But beggars can’t be choosers and I read a lot of this on my way from Athens to Belgrade. (WORSE TRAIN RIDE EVER.) It’s a love story but this girl saves a guy from killing himself and has two weeks to prove to him that life is great and worth living and they end up in love and together by the end. Womp womp

Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth

Picked this book up in Prague and it sustained me throughout the rest of my trip and that long plane ride home. Some parts of it were mildly entertaining and others were way too ornamental. A lot of the characters sounded similar but just had different masks on. Beggars can’t be choosers though.

R.U.R. by Karel Caprek

It is a very interesting play. The ending was actually quite sweet. Idk what else to say but it’s sort and captivating? Lol also it originated the word “robot”.

War with the Newts by Karel Caprek

I loved the formatting of this book. It read like a long scientific report but it worked for this story which charts the rise and fall of the Newts. It’s a great study on human nature.

With my Body by Nicki Gemmel

It’s written in the same style as The Bride Stripped Bare (second person) and has similar themes but I enjoyed this one a lot more. I related more to this character (all the more by the repetitive usage of “you”). It was kind of like reading a director’s notes on parts of my life lol. Observation: women from Gemmel’s generation don’t seem to enjoy giving blowjobs whereas women from my generation all enjoy to.

The Savage City by T.J English

Amazing, amazing, amazing! The way he has paralleled these 3 seemingly different stories really paints a vivid picture of New York 1963-73. The new afterword really pumped up the ending which I felt was a bit lack luster. I read the obit for George which English also wrote and it’s so heartbreaking. It’s so saddening reading about the events that happened then and seeing them still happening now =////

Laughable Loves by Milan Kundera

This is a wonderful short story collection that is wry, touching, sad and hilarious. I love all of his observations on humanity.

9 1/2 Weeks “by” Elizabeth McNeill

I think this was like the 50 shades in the 80s lol. And we all know how the 80s were. The writing is a lot better though, it’s a quick read but the most interesting part to me is the psychological unraveling she goes through. What’s different from this (it’s a movie tie in book btw) and 50 shades is that it addresses the fact that yes the female character loves this man but it’s unhealthy and how she tries to get help for it.

Endless Love by Scott Spencer

I was surprised by how much I ended up liking this book. The premise alone was weird, this dude loves Jade so much he does the craziest things like he burnt down her family’s home so he could pretend to go and save her but the fire got out of control and everyone was on LSD. Yeah there’s weird parts but it works… the writing is beautiful and the ending to the story was so good. I highlighted some of my favourite quotes in my last entry. The movie adaptations to this are straight trash.

Youth in Revolt by C.D. Payne

So during all those big gaps between classes I would go into Indigo and read this book and it is SO funny! It’s absurd but it works for this. The journals of Nick Twisp coming of age journey is filled with an extensive vocabulary and hyperbolic nonsense but it works. It made me laugh and wish Nick would get a back bone but idk it was just really enjoyable.

The Vagrants by Yiyun Li

This was a book that I thought I knew where it was going, than it veered off into a different direction, I got my footing and it changed direction again. It was so enjoyable and all of these little characters were both sad and strong at the same time? Except Bashi, I loathe Bashi. Expanded here~

Super-toys Last All Summer Long by Brian Aldiss

So this short story was the inspiration for the movie AI which I watched part of but can’t bring myself to finish because it creeps me out and makes me sad at the same time. This story is no different lol. It was one of the stories we read for class when we were tackling short story science fiction.

The Black Cat by Edgar Allan Poe

Confession: I never found the Raven to be all that creepy but this one really did it for me.

The Story of an Hour by Kate Chopin

Ugh dude, this ending totally killed me. It was so heartbreaking that at her happiest hour she well… lol it’s a short story so you can read it within like 15 minutes easy.

The Necklace Guy de Maupassant

I will always associate this story with school. Schools love to set this story, I don’t know why. It’s good but I’ve been reading this since high school.

An Upheaval by Anton Chekov

I remembered my class debated by this for a long time lol, with my view being put down largely. Le sigh. Good discussion though.

The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

This is a TERRIFYING story. I get goosebumps thinking about it still. I focused the second half of my exam on this story and I haven’t gotten any comments back so I wonder what my prof thought about my analysis still.

The Open Boat by Stephen Crane

The most boring story I read in my class. I get what he’s saying but his style is not to my taste.

Araby by James Joyce

Yet another story I will always associate with school. I wonder why teachers always choose this one and the Necklace.

Hills Like White Elephants by Ernest Hemingway

Okay, so I’ve always found Hemingway’s prose hard to work through because it’s so spare but I enjoyed this story. Maybe I only like like him in short doses.

A Good Man Is Hard to Find by Flannery O’Connor

Nothing creeps me out than a Grandmother in a story lol idk why. I didn’t even feel bad by the end. I think I was the only one that was like “good! get her out of here” in my class. / I don’t hate grandmas I just don’t like grandmas in creepy stories.

The Ones Who Walk Away from Omelas by Ursula K. Le Guin

This has always been a story that makes me think. I’ve read it a few times but I can’t quite decide if I would stay in Omelas or if I would go.

Miles City, Montana by Alice Munro

My favourite part of the story was when she recalls the incident. She describes it in a way that paints it very vividly in my mind.

Gravel by Alice Munro

One of my favourite Munro stories. The people she writes about do something to me ha… I can’t quite explain it. They’re not all good and not all bad but IDK how to describe it.

Cathedral by Raymond Carver

I didn’t think I would enjoy this story as much as I did. The ending <3333 (lol sorry I’m getting so lazy with this)

Girl by Jamaica Kincaid

This was my favourite of the whole course. I love the way it’s written and analyzing it was one of the best discussions and never ending. I wish that I had chosen to write this for my final paper instead of tackling how history influenced noir fiction ==

My Lucy Friend Who Smells Like Corn by Sandra Cisneros

This story was so cute!! Sandra always has such a strong voice in her stories.

Grandpa’s Story by Shaun Tan

This was my first time reading anything by Shaun Tan and I enjoyed it. He mixes illustration with words, I guess it’s kind of like a picture book for adults? The pictures themselves are just as expressive as the words themselves.

Red Wind by Raymond Chandler

I love a good noir story and Chandler is one of the best. I can’t even talk about it right now because I still remember the living nightmare that was my paper that was inspired from this.

Symbols and Signs by Vladimir Nabokov

The ending to this story still freaks me out lol. It wasn’t part of our “horror” genre but I always felt it was kind of a horror story?

A Rose for Emily by William Faulkner

This one ranks right up there with the Yellow Wallpaper. I could see the ending coming but still.

Cinderella by the Brothers Grimm

I like this version lol as gruesome as it was.

Cinderella; or. The Little Glass Slipper by Charles Perrault

This version was too… preachy to me. The ending to it actually had a little ~moral~ blurb going on about how girls should be kind and docile and we shall get all the lovely things we want. Bleh.

I think I’m missing a couple that I can’t seem to remember right now, I feel like we read another Poe story and we definitely read another comic but that comic was too confusing for me so oh well! 2015 has gotten off to a good-ish start so far. By the end of 2014 I was still slogging through this truly horrible book and I just finished it a couple days ago and I can’t talk about it because it makes me want to perform a lobotomy on myself.

One thought on “Books I’ve Read – The 2014 Edition

  1. Pingback: Books I’ve Read – The 2015 Edition | Directions, Please.

Leave a Reply

