087

So apparently it’s my anniversary on WordPress so happy anniversary to me. I finished this book called Slowness a few days ago by one of my favourite authors, Milan Kundera. I liked it, but that’s not really a surprise, he’s fast become one of my favourite authors. I don’t really know how to describe it. it’s very short but has a ton of characters and the story doesn’t really have a plot but… it’s just very funny at times and confusing at others.

But this one passage that really stuck with me was:

There is a secret bond between slowness and memory, between speed and forgetting. Consider this utterly commonplace situation: a man is walking down the street. At a certain moment, he tries to recall something, but the recollection escapes him. Automatically he slows down. Meanwhile, a person who wants to forget a disagreeable incident he has just lived through starts unconsciously to speed up his pace, as if he were trying to distance himself from a thing still too close to him in time.

In existential mathematics, that experience takes the form of two basic equations: the degree of slowness is directly proportional to the intensity of the memory; the degree of speed is directly proportional to the intensity of forgetting.

I never really thought about memory and speed like that before and I think it’s true. Lol like if I’m going the wrong way I will literally pretend like I just remembered something, slow my steps and turn back. That’s when I’m doing it consciously, so I must be doing it unconsciously. Although these days I am trying to speed away from some memories. Merp.

I have to pick up my Kylie Lip Kits at some point today lmao. I gave in, they were so pretty. But I know jack shit about lip liners and stuff and I really want to be that girl that’s confident enough to wear the colours I bought. And I should probably pluck my eyebrows because I want fleeky looking brows. I’m such a sheep.

And this whole post was pointless. Oh well.

Today's featured image is by Alix, found via Tumblr.

Leave a comment